Space is the Place: RKET + Max Johnson solo + Andrius Dereviancenko solo

Thursday, February 14, 20:30, €9 / students €6


In 2012, Jan Klare started a powerful trio with Luc Ex und Michael Vatcher, that stirred a mix of jazz, punk and improv. Luc Ex´s bass playing is unique in sound and approach – he was a longtime member of “The Ex” and has traveled all relevant European festivals with “Four Walls”, and “Assemblee”. Vatcher left Amsterdam in 2017, and luckily “Cactus Truck” drummer Onno Govaert, also from Amsterdam, took over in his own style. Jan Klare has created ensembles such as “The Dorf”, and “1000” and was in an impressive number of collaborations, including Caspar Brötzmann, and Eugene Chadbourne.

Jan Klare – alt and bass saxophone | Luc Ex – bass guitar | Onno Govaert – drums

Well known for his various contributions and initiatives in the Amsterdam jazz/improv scene the last couple of years, saxophone player Andrius Dereviancenko (Lithuania) now presents his solo act. Expect some modest and intense explorations of the tenor saxophone


Harvesting the wild energy and joy of free jazz, bassist and composer Max Johnson approaches his music with love and authenticity. “Johnson is an intrepid composer, architect of sound and beast of the bass…” (Brad Cohan, New York City Jazz Record). Creating complex worlds of sound, Johnson challenges his listeners to engage deeply and be rewarded with a complete musical experience that is always jubilantly crafted with care and clarity.
“New York bassist Max Johnson has established himself as one of the more versatile figures in jazz and improvised music, a leader with a strong, woody tone who shows himself capable whether playing tunes with a swinging drive or exploring abstract terrain with a texture-oriented approach.” (Peter Margasak, The Chicago Reader) As an improvising bassist, Max Johnson has worked with legendary figures of the music such as John Zorn, Anthony Braxton, Muhal Richard Abrams, Mary Halvorson, Nels Cline, among others. In 2012 and 2014 was voted No.2 Bassist of the Year and No. 5 Musician of the Year in El Intruso’s International Critics Poll.

Max Johnson – bass